Message sent from:

Welcome to Yoxford & Peasenhall Nursery-

Our Early Years Centre of Excellence

Yoxford and Peasenhall Primary School opened a nursery in summer 2018 and it has become the Consortium Multi Academy Trust's Early Years Centre of Excellence in the delivery of exceptional early years provision, best practice and training. 

The new unit has a small but growing cohort of mixed nursery and Reception aged children, able to learn and develop in a purpose built, brand new facility designed entirely for early years foundation stage learning.

The new building is open and spacious so the children can have access to all areas of learning at all times.  The nursery has a secure outdoor area which the children are able to use throughout the day and are free to choose from indoor and outdoor activities.  This allows the children the opportunity to explore new and exciting experiences.

If you would like to visit us we would love to show you around!  Please contact the school office on 01728 668291 or at officeyoxford@yoxvalley.org to make an appointment.  We look forward to meeting you and your child.


Miss Julia Wright

EYFS Class Teacher- Elm Class


Mrs Diane Flaherty

Teaching & Nursery Assistant- Elm Class

Admission into our Nursery

Children are eligible to be admitted to Yoxford Nursery at the beginning of the term following their 3rd birthday.  They are entitled to 15 hours of free provision with some parents able to claim 30 hours provision, subject to your working income.  To check your eligibility please visit the government's website at www.childcarechoices.gov.uk for further information or call their helpline on 0300 123 4097.

For children who turn 3 between 1 April to 31 August the free childcare starts from September (autumn term).

For children who turn 3 between 1 September to 31 December the free childcare starts from January (spring term).

For children who turn 3 between 1 January to 31 March the free childcare starts from April (summer term).

The Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS is the period of education for all children from birth until the end of Reception year at school.  It is called the Foundation Stage because it provides children with the secure foundations they need for their future learning.  It builds on all the learning that children will have already gained from their families.

There are 7 areas of learning covered by the EYFS curriculum.  These are divided into three prime areas and four specific areas.  

The prime areas are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design Communication and Language